Day 38

20130617-080424.jpg

Great Falls, MT – Lincoln, MT (97 miles)

The Continental Divide was supposedly the most climbing I would have to do on my bike ride. Countless Montanans had cautioned me that I would be dew for a super hard day on the bike. So, I was a little worried about whether I would have enough daylight to make it to my destination before dark; that’s mostly because there is a large distance between the two cities I was riding to and from.

Starting early, due to the headwinds the forecast had predicted, I made my way from the last of the eastern prairie lands of Montana to the first real mountains of the Rockies on my route. It took me about six hours of riding in a nasty westerly wind to finally reach the foothills of the freshly rained upon and consequently lush mountains. There presence was dominating in the landscape. From miles away I could see them and I knew my sore and skinny legs were in for it!

Finally, I made it to the mountains and the climbing began. For some weird reason I love climbing canyons on a bike. The feeling of consistently pushing and punishing your body to it’s brink is important to me. It teaches me how far I can go and I am always surprised at what I can do to my body. In a sense, I know that if I can do this to my body, I can do many other things as well. Demanding more of myself provides me with confidence that I can use to accomplish other tasks.

After a few hours of ascending into pine forests I made it to the divide. The crips cool air felt refreshing and the alpine botany was gorgeous! There is something’s special about the tiny, ephemeral flowers on mountain tops. The way they seem to etch out a short lived, yet fulfilling life. After taking it all in, I realized that the light was fading and I needed to ride on.

I rolled into Lincoln that night feeling great. I had encountered stiff head winds, a large climb, and I was still standing. My confidence was growing.

20130617-114155.jpg
The ride into Lincoln…

About stevetolp

I’m a Chickasaw tribal member traveling around Latin America via motorcycle. I enjoy learning about indigenous cultures, food sovereignty, mental health, and how to be physically fit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment