Day 41

20130624-230922.jpg
Sam rolling in front of me

Locsha Lodge, ID – Kamiah, ID (92 miles)

It was a warm day in the Clearwater Forest. My friend and fellow cyclists, Sam, was riding along with me. We followed a curvaceous back highway nearly all day through some of the most picture-perfect terrain I had seen my entire trip. The lush forest surrounded us every mile of the ride. It climbed the immense mountains ranges in the distance and encroached upon the white sandy beaches of the Clearwater River, which the highway traced on its circuitous route. With every twist and turn we saw one after another awe-inspiring landscapes. I stopped frequently to take it all in.

I stopped often, because I knew this was near the end of my ride. I had ridden for a long period and only a few hundred miles remained on my ride. To try and savor the remaining miles I attempted to consciously appreciate such beauty. I imagine that Sam was getting tired of my constant reverence, but I knew this was a special time for me.

Even though he may have been annoyed with my slow pace, I truly enjoyed my time with Sam. It was a especially nice to share the last moments of my trip with someone who understood what I was feeling; he too was coming to the end of his ride. We talked a lot about our experiences and what we had learned along the way. One thing that we did concur on, was that the ride affected each of us differently.

For me, the ride helped me realize the importance of slowing down my life. I have a tendency to pack many things into my day. I try to be “efficient” and to “achieve” as much as I can; in the meantime, life can tend to pass by. This ride forced me to move at a slower pace than how our society currently functions. That slower pace helped me recognize my misconceptions of what “efficiency” was. I now believe that functioning at a pace that promotes my happiness and allows me to acknowledge the beauty of life is efficient. For me, that means slowing down and packing less into my day. Driving slower than the speed limit, using the stove instead of the microwave, reading the news not watching it on the television, growing my food not purchasing it–all will help promote a more rewarding and content lifestyle for me.

To recollect what Joyce, a friend from Bismark, North Dakota, told me about life, “stop and enjoy the roses.” She had told me that after I inquired about what advice she would give to her younger self. At the time I assumed I understood what she meant, but after riding across a stretch of this country I believe I didn’t completely comprehend the advice. To truly understand someone, I believe you have to experience what they are talking about; otherwise, it is just words. By slowing my life down I was almost forced to enjoy the subtleties of life; thereby, living or experiencing the advice Joyce had given me.

Towards the end of the day I saw discovered flowering Bear Grass. I knew it was important for me to stop, and enjoy the beauty of them… So, I did!

20130624-231112.jpg
I took off my shoes to take a dip in the frigid Clearwater River and some butterflies thought they smelled like flowers…

About stevetolp

I’m a Chickasaw tribal member traveling around Latin America via motorcycle. I enjoy learning about indigenous cultures, food sovereignty, mental health, and how to be physically fit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment