Day 40

20130617-114823.jpg
Sam at our campsite!

Missoula, MT – Lacsha Lodge, ID (57 miles)

Riding alone has its benefits. I am able to function on my own schedule and I believe that I am much more approachable to others. The ladder of the two has allowed me to meet many new people across the country and I doubt I would have done so if I had ridden with someone else.

Eating alone, I had a scrumptious breakfasts of huckleberry pancakes at a local eatery in Missoula, which is a great town. While I was eating a gentleman from England approached me and we struck up a conversation about bicycle touring. He was touring with his son, but now his schedule required that he return to England. Before saying goodbye he mentioned that his son would continue to ride on and that he would be on the same route as me. I was to look out for out him.

With the possibility of meeting another tourer on the rode, I began my ride into the rugged Clearwater National Forest. After only twenty minutes of pedaling, I ran into Sam, the son of the gentleman I met at the cafe. We instantly struck up a friendship and rode together for the remainder of the day. We talked about some intense things, but it was great conversation. We discussed the poverty we had seen in on our rides and the amount of, what was perceived to be,blind patriotism. Talking with Sam about these intense topics allowed me to acknowledge an outsiders view of this countries problems and philosophical standings. It was highly insightful and at the end of it all I had a new found appreciation for this country.

Climbing and chatting through the lush forest, which contained one of the most beautiful flowers I have ever seen: Bear Grass (see photo below), we made our way to Locsha Lodge. There we set up camp at picture perfect campsite and continued to chat our way into the night.

I was thankful to have met Sam and if I had been in a group of riders or with someone else I probably wouldn’t have gotten to know him. There are perks to being alone while traveling and making new friends is one of them.

20130617-115221.jpg
Bear Grass in bloom…

About stevetolp

I’m a Chickasaw tribal member traveling around Latin America via motorcycle. I enjoy learning about indigenous cultures, food sovereignty, mental health, and how to be physically fit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 40

  1. jamie ault says:

    Steve! I have really enjoyed following you across the country. It makes me look forward to our trip across the country even more. We leave in a week, so maybe we’ll see you on your way to Seattle! Take care.
    – Jamie (from growing power)

  2. jamie ault says:

    Oh my goodness, you’re done! I just saw on Facebook. Congrats!

  3. Julie Harrington says:

    Hey Steve! Where ever you are, we’re with you. Hope you enjoy your time with family and friends before you get on the plane. Safe travels. Good luck! We love you, your energy and your commitment to others.

  4. Julie Harrington says:

    I forgot to say, congratulations!!!!!

Leave a comment